Share this article

Stricter and more timely responses by governments have seen to be more effective measures in curbing the spread of the deadly novel Coronavirus. This was revealed while examining overall world wide trends of response by governments across the globe. Particularly, when comparing stricter countries like China with the much laxer Unites States of America and Britain.

Considering this trend, where does Nigerian states stand on the scale of strict and timely response?
In order to ascertain this, Stears Business created a State Response Index. According to them, the Index is a dynamic measure of each state’s aggressiveness in combatting the virus. It is a ranking of the intensity of each state’s response to the coronavirus crisis and is updated with additional developments from verified sources. The 10 criteria and weighting used in creating the index are outlined in the methodology below.


1. Limited welfare 

Less than half of state governments have begun any kind of relief to SMEs or cash and food handouts to the vulnerable. Each state has a score out of 10 (on the far left column) based on how many measures it has adopted.

Live Data: Coronavirus policy response by state

2. Affected states are responding

Thankfully, not only have the states with most of the cases embraced more stringent measures to curtail the spread of the virus but also states with fewer or no cases have implemented border closures which can hopefully help avoid the economic harm of a lockdown. Each state is shaded according to its level of responsiveness. Lagos State has 10 points after adopting all measures.

Live Data: Map of intensity of policy response to Coronavirus

10 Equally Weighted Criteria for State Response (Requirements for point)

The visuals above show the state of the coronavirus response for each of the 36 states and the FCT: Abia, Abuja, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara. The criteria are explained below:

  1. Movement restriction: The state must have announced restricted movement, recommended social distancing, and limited public gatherings.
  2. Closed borders – The state must have announced a closure of its land borders at the time of the last update.
  3. Lockdown – The state or Federal Government must have announced a lockdown that is still effective at the time of the last update of this report.
  4. Emergency law – The state must have enacted a law related to its ability to control the coronavirus at the time of the last update.
  5. Security – The state government must have deployed security personnel to enforce rules related to covid19.
  6. Test centers –  The state must have had a laboratory announced by the NCDC operational at the time of the last update. 
  7. Isolation centers – The Isolation centers with at least 300 beds must already be in place. An announcement of the intention to set up an isolation center does not meet the criteria.
  8. Added ventilators – The state must have made an announcement committing to additional ventilators or received ventilators either through donations or state purchases.
  9. SME Grant – The state must have announced plans for relief to small businesses within the State as at the time of this. 
  10. Handouts – The state must have begun cash or food handouts to vulnerable state residents.

Leave your vote

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here